The One Piece Problem and Pokemon Manga

2024-09-21

What is the One Piece Problem? I've actually never seen One Piece, I've called it that for the reason I'm not watching One Piece. Many people have praised it, but I do not want to start it, as it is SO LONG. The anime has over 1100 episodes at the time I'm writing this, I actually prefer reading Manga to spend less time on the screen.

Imagine having to find and buy all that manga...

(I do not read online, as said, I'm spending too much time in front of a screen already)

And even if I got my hand on all of that, the time I would need to spend to finish it all... I don't want to start it, if I like it then, I would want to finish it, wouldn't I? And that is what I call the One Piece Problem.

Page from the Pokemon Manga featuring the characters Yellow and Blue. Yellow cant catch a Caterpie as he doesnt want to hurt it.

Yellow can't catch a Caterpie, as he does'nt want to hurt it.


And I have experienced it lately. I bought the Manga for Pokemon, I'm really fond of it, the direction is more mature, the way moves work is pretty interesting, Team Rocket actually seems like a danger, trying to kill the protagonist multiple times... I could go on but I do not want to tell you how good it is, so that you do not suffer the One Piece problem too.

Because Pokemon also has A LOT of media and manga you could read, anime you can watch... you can probably consume Pokemon media for a long long time. (I'm also playing the games sometimes)

On the other hand, I do not want to be discouraged from enjoying stuff because of that problem I thought up myself. I'm currently at the Yellow Arc, and I really like it.

Potential spoilers (click)

It's so cool! All beloved characters like Blue and Green return, also the "good" gym leaders. I like Pyro. And Yellow is interesting, he doesn't want to hurt the Pokemon, he can hear their thoughts and even heal them! He goes on his journey to find Red, which was challenge by the Elite Four and has gone missing... I'm excited how the story will end!

I don't know if I will continue reading/buy the Pokemon Gold/Silver Manga, I might. I really enjoyed what I read so far.